Water And Oceanography

Overview of the seven Underwater Wonders of the World

Lalitha Subbaraman's image for:
"Overview of the seven Underwater Wonders of the World"
Image by: 

What are The Seven Underwater Wonders of the World? It's time to dive into the realm of the oceans and explore in depth with virtual scuba diving gears.

The Seven Underwater Wonders of the World was a selective list created by CEDAM International, a non profit, American based organization of divers.The organization's main goal is to preserve ocean and conduct research regarding the marine ecological-system. They gathered a committee of marine biologists to choose underwater regions which are special with marine species for conservation and protection. The selection criteria is based on the beauty, environmental importance, marine life and research potential for the present and the future. The project began in 1989. They announced their list at  the national aquarium in Washington DC.

Palau: Palau is one of the chosen Seven Underwater wonders of the World. It is a small nation with the most biologically varied coral reefs of the blue planet. Marine biologists discovered about 700 coral species and 150 various species of fishes.Some of them are blue-healed wrasses, sea-cows, whales, shell fish,  octopus and mantha ray . Palau is located 2000 miles south of Tokyo and 500 mile east of Philippines.

Palau is a diver's paradise,  and its ecological-system is delicate. Palau's government introduced initiatives to protect coastal waters and forests. Coral bleaching is a threat due to  increasing  ocean temperature. Increasing ocean  temperature is caused by the natural hurricanes and global warming also. Coral reefs face dangers due to unregulated tourism, shipping and fishing.

Thermal vents : Deep sea vents are also regarded as hydro-thermal vents, deep water seeps, deep sea springs. They are superb submarine geysers. They occur due to the geo-thermal energy. Hydro-thermal Vents exist in various  regions of the  world. They sustain a strange, striking ecological-system. Marine biologists believed that the life of  species cannot exist without the source of sun light during the past decades.  The life of micro-organism exist and thrive well within the ecological system of thermal vents without the source of sun light. The first thermal vent was discovered east of the Galapagos islands. Hydro-thermal vents are active near volcanically active regions and areas where tectonic plates are sliding away.

Galapagos Islands: Galapagos Islands is a symbol of the Darwin's theory of the survival of the fittest. Galapagos island's name has its origin in Spanish for the giant land tortoises.This island is a special place for marine biologist s. Ecological tourism is a popular trend in this island.The balance between thriving tourism and the protection of the marine species  is a worthy struggle for this island.

Great Barrier reef: Great barrier reefs are the only living single organism which can  be seen from the outer space. Australia has introduced measures to protect this natural ecological treasure  The reefs sustain marine species of numerous kinds. The healthy thriving reefs are essential for the healthy thriving lives of various marine species of the Australia's Great barrier reef region.

Belize Barrier Reef : Belize Barrier is is the second largest one after the Australian Barrier Reef. Scuba divers enjoy the Belize barrier reef with its colorful marine species and the striking various coral reefs. Belize reefs are known for a specie called Nassau grouper. This specie has a trait of changing his gender during its old age. It helps to increase the specie's reproductive goals.

The North Red Sea:  Jordan is one of the country close to the north Red Sea. The north Red Sea region extends between various countries, Israel, Saudi Arabia. Scuba diving is a known activity in this region. This region is regarded as the 'underwater garden of Eden'. The water has the light reddish hue due to the red-algae. It is an inlet of the Indian ocean between Africa and Asia.

Lake Baikal : Lake Baikal is the oldest lake of the blue planet. It is considered as 25 million years old lake. It is located in Russia. It is the deepest lake too. It is the habitat for the fresh water seal. It is known as  'Sacred Lake'. It is surrounded by mountains. Flora and fauna in this lake region is striking for diversified species. Logging is banned near this lake. It is an ancient fresh water lake.

All good things come to an end. Will these Seven Underwater Wonders of the World be around for centuries yet to come? What people do today can make a positive or negative impact on the future of these ecological treasures and the various species that thrives within the ecological-system.

More about this author: Lalitha Subbaraman

From Around the Web

  • InfoBoxCallToAction ActionArrowhttp://scienceray.com/biology/marine-biology/7-underwater-wonders-of-the-world-and-their-fascinating-watery-residents/